

92 Annual Meeting of the Society of Biological Chemists Biological Chemistry: Opportunities, Challenges and the Way Forward BITS Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus





Day 3 (20th December, 2023, Wednesday)

9:30-10:10	Keynote: Dr. Gagandeep Kang, CMC-Vellore [Auditorium] Title: Birth cohorts, Nutrition and the need for collaborative science Introduced by: Dr. Suman Kundu Tea					
Invited Talks						
		10:40-12:10				
	Session 1 [DLT7]	Session 2 [DLT8]	Session 3 [DLT9]			
	Biochemical Engineering	Structural Biology-2	Immunology			
	Chair: Dr. Riffat John, UoK	Chair: Dr. Apurba K Sau, NII	Chair: Dr. Samit			
			Chattopadhyay, BITS Goa			
10:40-11:10	Dr. Syed Shams Yazdani ICGEB Title: Microbial genome engineering to produce renewable fuels and chemicals	Dr. Kakoli Bose ACTREC Title: Unraveling the Energy Transition Network That Dictates Allosteric Activation of Proapoptotic High-Temperature	Dr. Sangita Mukhopadhyay DBT-CDFD Title: Drug repurposing for the treatment of Tuberculosis – An approach towards hostdirected Immunotherapy			
		Requirement Protease A2	1,			
11:10-11:40	Dr. N S Punekar IIT Dharwad	Dr. Koyeli Mapa Shiv Nadar	Dr. Vineeta Bal IISER Pune			
	Title: Aspergillus niger acidogenic metabolism:	Title: Stress Responses Elicited by Misfolded Proteins Targeted to Mitochondria	Title: Tracking immune responses to SARS-CoV2			

	View from the carbon and						
	nitrogen interface						
11:40-12:10	Dr. Binoy K. Saikia	Dr. Thomas Pucadyil	Dr. Koustubh Panda				
	NEIST-Jorhat	IISER-Pune	CU				
	Title: Indigenous carbon						
	quantum dots fabricated	Title: Regulatory mechanisms	Title: An in vivo probe for				
	from coal feedstock for	in membrane fission and their	realtime monitoring of				
	biomedical applications	relevance to physiology	inflammation				
(Invited Short Talks)							
	12:15-13:15						
	Session 1 [DLT7]	Session 2 [DLT8]	Session 3 [DLT9]				
	Communicable and	Structural Biology and	Stem Cell and Regenerative				
	Non-Communicable	Biophysics	Biology				
	Diseases	Chairs: Dr. Sumit Biswas,	Chairs: Dr. Anasuya Ganguly,				
	Chairs: Dr. Dibakar	Dr. Rajesh Mehrotra, BITS Goa	Dr. Indrani Talukdar, BITS Goa				
	Chakrabarty, Dr. Judith						
	Braganca, BITS Goa						
12:15-12:35	Dr. Veena S Patil	Dr. Saugata Hazra	Dr. Zhumur Ghosh				
	NII	IIT Roorkee	Bose Institute				
	Title: Single-cell	Title: Study of a novel	Title: Regulatory Noncoding				
	transcriptomic and T cell	Penicillin Recognition Protein	RNomics based Predictive				
	antigen receptor	(PRP) from <i>E. faecium</i> :	Approaches - A roadmap				
	repertoire analysis of viral	Understanding mechanism of	towards safer stem cell based				
	antigen-specific memory T cells in humans	Antibiotic Resistance (ABR)	regenerative therapy				
12:35-12:55	Dr. Nikhil R Gandasi	Dr. Aravind Penmatsa	Dr. S Jyothi Prasanna				
	IISc	IISc	MIRM				
	Title: RIM2 receptors bind	Title: Structural and	Title: 5-Ectonucleotidase, in				
	to rab3 carrying vesicles to	mechanistic insights into	Mesenchymal Stem Cell				
	stabilize insulin granule	GABA recognition and	differentiation,				
	docking in pancreatic	transport inhibition in GAT1	immunemodulation and				
	betacells		repair responses				

12:55-13:15	Dr. Nishad Matange	Dr. Nagasuma Chandra	Dr. Amitava Das		
	IISER Pune	IISc (Invited talk)	IICT Hyderabad		
	Title: Bacterial	Title: Structural determinants	Title: Bioengineered		
	proteostasis and	of ATP and SAM recognition	Mesenchymal Stem		
	antimicrobial resistance		Cell-derived 3D Skin		
			Organoids Grafting as		
			Regenerative Therapy for		
			Diabetic Wounds		
13:15-14:00	Lunch				
14:10-14:20	Dr. Dipanwita Sengupta [Auditorium]				
	DBT/Wellcome Trust India Alliance				
	Introduced by: Dr. Veeky Baths				
14:20-15:40	Panel Discussion: Equity for Women in STEM - is India there yet? [Auditorium]				
	Dr. Rashna Bhandari (CDFD) [Moderator]				
	Dr. Lynne Maquat (University of Rochester), Dr. Sandhya Koushika (TIFR), Dr. Deepak Saini				
	(IISc), Dr. Kakoli Bose (ACTREC), Snehanshu Saha (BITS GOA)				
15:45-17:30	Valedictory (Dr. Meenal Kowshik, Dr. Malabika Biswas, Dr. Indrani Talukdar)				
	And				
	Flash Talks [By some of the Poster Award Winners]				
	(Chairs: Dr. P. R. Deepa, Dr. Meghana Tare, BITS Pilani)				
	(Chairs: D)r. P. R. Deepa, Dr. Meghana Tare	, BITS Pilani)		